Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel.

To what extend do you agree/disagree?

Nowadays, many people belive that the most efficient way to solve problems of the environment is to raise the costs of fuel. I completely disagree with this one-sided approach as in practise it would lead to an increase in living expenses.

On the one side, hiking prices of fuel could cause not only transportation costs to go up, but also expenses associated with the utility bills. As a result costs of products, namely food, clothes and other necessities would club up. For example, a recent study conducted at University of Keele showed that raise of fuel price by 10% leads to an increase in core household bills by 17%. Therefore, despite possibly reducing the impact of fuel pollution on the environment, raising its price would negatively affect all citizens, mostly the poorest.

On the other side, saving the environment requires more effort than increasing fuel costs. Although it could encourage people to opt for public transport more often, it would unlikely be enough to decrease overall pollution, as environmental problems stem from more than car fuel and CO2 emission. According to the report presented at the G8 summit in 2019, fuel associated pollution accounts for 17% of overall environmental damage and this number has been consistently falling in the last decade. Therefore, increasing the price of fuel would not make enough of a positive impact. Although the air quality could improve in the most polluted area, it would not solve the global environmental problems.

In conclusion, I strongly belive that increase in prices of fuel is not the best way to save the environment, as it would hit the working families the hardest, spiking costs of necessities like food.