A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Today tourism industry is progressing rapidly, consequently providing source of employements to the people. However, it is argued that tourism can bring certain adversities if not managed properly. In the following paragraphs, I will explain the positive and negative effects of tourism in the contemporary world.

To commence with, there are numerous merits of tourism. Firstly, along with employement opportunites , it also boosts the economy of the country. Millions of tourists visit different places and during that time, they stay in hotels, use eateries and buy gifts for their near and dears , absolutely provide chances to local business to thrive.Secondly, tourism broadens the horizons of the travellers.There are several adventures places and amazing things to see in certain countries, which initate the creative thinking among masses , at the same time soothens their souls. In addition to this, digitalization enableing everybody to have a glanceof locations virtually, ultimately which arise intense curosity among holidaymakers to visit tourist hotspots. Therefore, tourism is advantageous for an individual, nation as well as for tourists.

In contrast, there are few downsides of tourism. On the one hand,it alters the beauty of holiday destinations. Because of the increase in frequency of visitors, the places have started looseing their attraction. For example- a study by Hindustan times shows that many ideal tourist locations especially mountains and hilly areas have become the dumping grounds. People donot pay attention to keep places clean, however,l they through litter such as food packets, plastic bottles etcetera. On the other hand, certain cities are abundantly dependant on tourism, so in certain circumstances like coronavirus outbreak, they are adversely affected in terms of income generation .

To conclude, undoubtedly, tourism industry have several pros as like progression of economy and enhancement of knowledgeof the individuals ,but also it diminish the natural essence of attractive places and also, affect certain nations economy during shortage of vistors. Hence, I believe the advantages of tourism certainally outweigh its cons in certain aspects.