A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

In recent years,hotel&tourism become the predominant sector to generate income in the world such as in southeast Asia and Europe. Although there are popular tourist destinations destructed by a large number of tourists, this sector is more beneficial because it is still the ultimate resource to improve economic growth through local, national, and international tourists.

One major disadvantage when tourism becomes a back-bone sector to protect economic development is demolishing tourism. Several main destinations of tourism have never been the same in the last 10 years. Some sides such as temples, walls, and gardens are the main parts that need rehabilitation urgently. Sense of protection and sustainability unseen by tourists, misuse, and vandalism in the area of the object become ultimate factors of demolition. Tourists think because they charged for entry, they were free to touch and misuse some particular objects. For example, a survey was conducted in west java, Indonesia by the Center for Economic and Tourism Development (CETD) Padjadjaran University, showed there is heavy damage in approximately 1560 points from 6000 points tourism destination, more than 25%. Although this sector faces the problem up now, I believe the cons of tourism will not surpass the pros of the tourism sector.

On the other hand, the tourist has raised the level of economy in some countries. 23 of 100 poor income countries level up to middle-income countries due to improving the tourism after allocating national budget for infrastructure. Increasing Economic productivity in this sector pushed more employment, encouraged more enterprises and business communities to acquire profit, and induced tax collection for the government. For instance, Indonesia was a poor country 20 years before, with surging economic growth of almost 13% by the tourism sector on average per year and projected to become a developed country in 2030.

The tourism sector altered some countries to be more strong in the economy because it widely impact some sub-sectors, emerged new economic units, absorb more labor, and decrease unemployment as well. It is clear that the advantages of the tourism sector are more than the disadvantages.