A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Tourism is the main factor contributing to the GDP of many regions. However, were it to be poorly managed, there would be a host of repercussions. From my perspective, although tourism in today’s life is a double-edged sword, its advantages do surpass the disadvantages. This essay will pen down both the negative and positive sides and provide valid support for my verdict.

On the one hand, travel might exert pernicious impacts on the environment, which is mainly attributed to the lack of awareness of tourists. For example, when going abroad to an unfamiliar nation, some travellers might feel free of the obligation to protect the natural habitat of indigenous flora and fauna as they consider preserving this area meaningless and non-profitable for them. However, this is not always the case. Thanks to educational tourism programs and strict regulations of local authorities, visitors could acquire more insights into their destinations and be willing to channel their efforts into protecting the environment for the sake of the whole society. Therefore, only to a minimal extent does tourism take a toll on the natural environment.

On the other hand, significant merits of economic and workforce development do outweigh the disadvantage mentioned above. Being one of the most potential industries in the modern world, tourism is now the decisive factor of economic development in many nations. Take Italy for instance, its revenue mostly stems from tourism, with a proportion of approximately 28%. Besides, tourism as a smoke-free industry has created millions of jobs for employees and contributed to accelerating the employment rates all over the globe.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, although tourism brings about both merits and demerits, I concur that its profound beneficial effects on the economy and the labour market outweigh its manageable drawback on the environment.