Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.

With the advent of information technology, the role of public libraries is diminishing and their perseverance seems to unprofitable expenditure. In my opinion, I do not support the thought, as a good collection of books have their own advantages that cannot be acquired through online resources.

There are different benefits associated with studying from books in the public area. Firstly, we get to explore a wide collection of books at a single platform and can effectively choose whatever we want to read. Secondly, we get access to some unique copies of old books which are not available on the internet. Thirdly, libraries are commonly sectioned on the basis of age groups/ subjects, etc. hence everybody focusses on their category only with no confusion. Lastly, we get the habit of reading with full concentration without any kind of disturbance as there are generally strict silence rules.

On the contrary, though from reading e-books and web sources are considered as a new way of exploring knowledge nowadays. Many schools and colleges are indulging students to this trend but it has its own demerits. Although we get ample of knowledge sources on the internet all the data provided is not always authentic, sometimes it becomes very hard for the students to pick-up the correct site for the study that leads to time wastage. They spend most of their energy in searching for a particular content than studying something useful. They also get distracted quite a lot due to a different kind of advertisements which reduces their focus on studies.

In conclusion, the advantages of maintaining public libraries are far more than the money spent on maintaining them as it provides students a better place for studying with full concentration on their choice of books while the web resources demand high energy in skimming the information, which becomes costly welfare for the students in term of their time.