Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous people consider that the development of modern technology can facilitate virtual and online libraries, which will put an end to the existence of traditional libraries. Although I believe that the advent of new technology has eliminated citizens’ needs to visit traditional libraries, they will never become redundant.

Admittedly, technological innovation has reduced the importance of traditional libraries. The main reason for this phenomenon is that virtual libraries provide people with almost all kinds of books or reading materials that they need to study, while the limited space of traditional libraries prevents them from accommodating a variety of old and state-of-the-art printed documents. Another reason for this is that traditional libraries only serve the public at a certain time during the day. By contrast, online libraries allow people to have instant access to material sources at any time from the comfort of their home by using modern tools such as computers and tablets. This requires traditional libraries to be well equipped with modern facilities to offer the public more digitized documents and more flexibility.

Nevertheless, despite the benefits of online libraries, I believe that computer technology cannot substitute public libraries completely. One key factor that drives people to visit traditional libraries is the need for quiet space and an inspiring atmosphere for studying and reading. Particularly, students find it easy and effective to concentrate on their work while they are in public libraries. Another important point is that it is difficult to read books for a long time on a digital screen. This can result in a range of health problems from eye strain to backache. However, with a book issued from a library, people can enjoy reading and touching this paper document from the comfort of their bed. Moreover, access to virtual libraries can be affected by power cut or internet disconnection, which can interrupt people while studying or completing their school assignments.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that computer technology will never replace traditional libraries but transform them into modern libraries where people can both pay a visit or have online access.