Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the invention of the Internet, human life has undergone drastic transformations in the way people work or study. Public libraries now are considered by some to be unnecessary due to the fast pace of technological development. In my opinion, I, however, totally disagree with this idea and believe libraries have their own distinct functions.

To begin with, information found in the Internet could not completely replace that contained in books from the libraries. In fact, huge number of writers are able to publish their works online nowadays without being carefully examined or thoroughly proved-read by a qualified party. It is also a common trend for news or articles from personal sites to spread at a surprising speed and go viral in a short period throughout the social media. The effects if this could be unpredictable as the readers receiving such information are most likely to be anonymous. One significance of the maintenance of public libraries include proving an ideal place where young students can seek for such authentic journals to conduct their researches or experiments at universities. This way, several untruthful and distorted contents taken from the Internet could be avoided, increasing the quality of students’ papers.

In addition, despite bringing unlimited advantages to users, computers or electronic and mobile devices do pose a huge threat on people, in terms of physical and mental health. When technology, mobile phones in particular, is used for reading purposes, it is undeniable that our eyes have to work all the way through their fullest potentials thus experience fatigue eventually when exposed within a prolonged period of time. To prevent this, health experts encourage everyone, regardless of age, to lessen the pressure on our eyes by reading physical books and library is an ideal place to indulge themselves in pages of academic knowledge. They have a chance to engage in a live discussion with their peers or even exchange ideas on a wide variety of subjects with the librarian.

In conclusion, libraries, especially those in close proximity with one’s neighborhood, play an indispensable role in comparison with computer technology. From my point of view, being a reliable source of information and health benefits are truth reasons in light of retaining the availability of public libraries.