Some people say that the government should spend more money taking care of elderly people while others think that government spending should be spent more on the education of young people. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people hold that the provision of necessary facilities for senior citizens should be more significant to ensure the development of social welfare. However, I am in favor of a larger proportion of domestic funds to be allotted to the education system which gives rise to the number of well-rounded citizens for the growth of economy.

On the one hand, to ensure the high level of social welfare in a country, the government is obliged to invest money in improving the living standards of old citizens. This acts as a reward for their hard work and life-long contribution to the development of their society. Those investments in healthcare facilities such as the construction of more hospitals to provide free medical treatments can help relieve the hardship old people endure because they are prone to serious diseases. For instance, medical services provided in public hospitals for Vietnamese citizens aged 65 or older are fully covered by the government. This financial support has helped a lot of senior citizens, especially the underprivileged, receive proper treatments and improve the quality of their life.

On the other hand, I contend that more government budgets should be spent on the reform of national education. Since the youth is the driving force for the economic, cultural and scientific advancements of a nation, investments in the development of young people are more rewarding. Apparently, a well-structured education system empowers them to acquire academic expertise and relevant job skills before they enter the job market and enhance the quality of the workforce. As a result, a leap in the number of high-skilled workers will precipitate an increase in Gross Domestic Product and subsequently a rise in national funds as well as other necessary allocations including healthcare.

In conclusion, I support the view that more federal funds should be allocated to educational projects for the youth rather than healthcare programs for the old because the leap in the number of productive residents can result in the development of economy which in turn replenishes the government coffers.