Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is true that a large amount of edible food purchased from retail outlets and dining establishments is discarded everyday. After identifying the main cause of this issue which is mainly engendered by poor shopping planning, a feasible measure involved in raising public awareness will be suggested to tackle this problem.

The most important factor that drives people to throw away a large amount of food bought from shops and restaurants is their shopping management. That is to say, the majority of consumers do not make plans or shopping lists before picking up groceries for their meals, so they tend to make inaccurate estimates of what and how many ingredients should be purchased, which induces overbuying. This situation seems to be aggravated when sales on exotic products and promotions displayed at supermarkets arouse appetite and, therefore, encourage impulse buys. Without proper preservation, this excessive number of items may spoil and be thrown in the rubbish dump before they can be used.

A feasible approach to resolve this problem is for the government to provide citizens with sufficient information about the negative impacts of food waste on various life aspects, especially the environment. Thanks to broadcasting and online platforms, such as youtube and Facebook, people are aware that food waste can be a factor resulting in global warming and climate change. In fact, it is estimated that food waste decomposing in landfills releases methane, a greenhouse gas that is 28 times more damaging than carbon dioxide to the atmosphere, raising the average temperature. Therefore, citizens who are well-informed are able to make shopping plans to avoid overbuying, compost their organic waste at home or send it to the waste composting collection companies.

In conclusion, due to unplanned shopping, many people waste a lot of valuable food which can be used to free millions of people in underdeveloped countries from starvation. This issue can be resolved if individuals are aware of the detrimental effects of food waste and simple steps to minimize it.