Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the computer technology is now replacing their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people are convinced that a lot of money can be wasted by the maintenance of public libraries, due to the advanced computer technology that replaces their uses. I completely disagree with this opinion, and firmly believe that libraries should still be maintained.

First of all, libraries could play a vital role in enhancing study quality. It stands to reason that they provide quiet and peaceful environments where loud noises are kept to a minimum thanks to the work of librarians. This lack of noises contributes greatly to the reduction of distractions that can negatively affect learners’ concentration, thus allowing for more effective knowledge retention. Consequently, students can gain better academic performances. For instance, many college students choose the library for studying, due to its quietness and few distractions. This can offer students more effective concentration, which might enable them to absorb much more knowledge or finish their assignments more quickly.

Another reason why libraries should be maintained is that libraries could provide opportunities for social connections. This is because people who love to read will come to libraries, which could result in meetings with others sharing the same interest in reading like them. These book lovers can interact with each other and bond through their love for reading, thus developing closer friendships every time they visit libraries. Without traditional libraries, intellectual people would lose a good place to find friends and expand their social connections.

All in all, I am firmly convinced that libraries should not be replaced by computer technology under any circumstances, since they could significantly increase study quality and also offer many chances for social connections.