In their advertising, businesses nowadays emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The last few decades have witnessed an escalating rate of companies that emphasize their products to compel more customers. This essay will examine the reasons for this phenomenon and show its main drawback.

The primary reason for this circumstance is that organizations and companies can convince more customers to purchase their products by releasing emphasized advertisements. It stands to the reason that when buyers watch those television commercials and pop ads that are well invested and have meaningful underlying messages, they are likely to find those advertisements compelling and want to purchase them. As a result, there can be a higher number of customers, which means their products have been sold out in a shorter time, therefore enhancing the turnover of the companies and doing wonder for their workforce because they are likely to have a higher salary. For example, toy companies may emphasize their products with far-fetched abilities to compel children, thus, the youngsters may pursue their parents to buy those toys for them.

However, from my perspective, this phenomenon is a negative trend. The main drawback is that customers may buy the things they do not really need. People may squander their time watching emphasized advertisements due to interesting content, colorful background, and well-invested sound. This can make people likely to be compelled and pursued to spend their money buying those products despite the fact that a huge number of them might not be used thereby squandering their time and money that should be spent to do more meaningful things. Take me as an example, after finalizing my homework, I usually browse online-shopping platforms such as Shopee or Lazada and I am attracted by numerous clothes items and cosmetics, thereby purchasing unjustified things and wasting valuable rest time after a nerve-racking studying period.

In conclusion, there are sufficient grounds for the fact that there have been more and more emphasized advertisements, however, I believe that this trade is a negative development.