Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The past few decades have witnessed an escalating rate of environmental issues. While a number of people advocate that the depletion of particular species of plants and animals is the main threat to environment, others opine that there are more significant environmental threats. From my perspective, both of these problems are harsh and have numerous negative impacts on environmental health.

On the one hand, the depletion of some plants and animals has a plethora of detrimental effects on the environment. It stands to the reason that the balance in the ecosystem could be erased because of overhunting and deforestation. Numerous rare animals are on the brink of extinction due to human greed and a large number of medical plants are overexploited to meet the demand of economic purposes. Take crocodiles as a typical example, plenty of them are killed in order to make people’s clothes and accessories such as jackets, wallets, hats, and so on, thus, making them be one of the most animals needing preservation because there is just a delicate number of them are protected in the zoos or wild gardens.

In my own view, not only the decrease of animals and plants have detrimental effects on the environment but other problems also deteriorate the ecosystem. Firstly, overexploitation of natural resources can harm our planet. When people exploit those kinds of resources, they need to open the path or destruct several caves, lands, and forests. This means that these harsh actions can diminish the environment’s health and put them to limits. Furthermore, climate changes are the main culprits behind several environmental problems. The main reason for this is that our planet cannot adapt itself to the quick changes of the weather and climate. Moreover, some of the consequences resulting from it are global warming, ice melting, greenhouse gases, and so on can destroy the environment seriously. For instance, because of the ice melting, numerous polar bears cannot find food and habitat to survive.

In conclusion, it is my view that besides the depletion of some animals and plants, both natural resources overexploitation and climate changes also have numerous detrimental impacts on the environment.