The maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of computer technologies that have the same function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that advancement in technology has restricted the use of public libraries and spending money for their protection would be utterly futile. I, however, disagree with the statement to a great extent because these occupy a significant and massive role for students, researchers, and knowledge-seekers at present as well.

On the one hand, libraries are indispensable and unavoidable for people. The first obvious reason is the quiet and conducive atmosphere of libraries. Everyone requires a fool-fledged ambiance to study or to gain knowledge. One feels motivated plus inspired by looking at the people sitting in rows and studying different books, magazines, and periodicals which cannot be replaced by technology. Also, visiting these libraries gives opportunities to come in contact with competitors where they can exchange ideas. The second important reason is that these are the cheapest and the best option for those who do not have easy access to the internet or cannot use computers. For instance, a survey by The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting concluded that around 30% population in India is using smartphones or computer technology. No preservation of libraries means no accurate information to the greater proportion of population across the world.

On the other hand, computer technology is becoming increasingly popular especially among young ones. It is the fastest and easiest way to obtain information. Almost every type of knowledge is just a click away for computer users. They can grab the information they want by sitting at homes or in offices. Libraries seem to be a useless and outdated way to them. Also, using computer technology is paperless and eco-friendly process can lend an immense help to protect our earth from global warming. Despite numerous benefits of computer technology, it is not judicious decision to stop maintaining libraries. Using too much technology is unhealthy and harmful to human being. No human contact can lead to stress, strain and even a deadly disease called depression. More so, libraries can be established in remote areas where internet connection is not possible or quite expensive. Hence, computer technology is not a viable alternative to public libraries.

In conclusion, I would like to assert that I am not against promoting computer technology, but spending money to preserve libraries is not wasting but investing money for larger benefits of the masses.