The internet has transformed the way information is shared and are the most serious problems associated with the internet consumed but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the reasons and what are the solutions.

The e-media has, without doubt, changed the method of receiving and sending information leading some serious problems not imagined a couple of years ago. This essay would analyze and discuss the worst possible hurdles and its remedies.

To begin with, fake and distorted news, viral messages as well as obscene videos on the social sites have wreaked the social fabric. Admittedly, Internet has become the most powerful weapon in the hand of antisocial elements to spread social hatred, conflict and disharmony. Mushrooming incidents of rapes and kidnapping have shaken the modern and sophisticated society. To prove my point, riots and gory occurrences in Haryana, Gujrat and U. P. in India and strife between white and black people in the U.S.A. are the perfect testimony. Secondly, cyber crimes such as withdrawing money from bank account of innocent people by unknown and steeling secret information connected to Defence forces by hackers is another grave concern caused due to internet. For instance, a recent survey by National Crime Record Bureau concluded that there is a significant surge in inhuman and barbaric activities all around the world in general, and developing countries, in particular.

Nevertheless, several major judicious measures need be taken to address these complex problems. The first and the best obvious solution is to make stringent law against those who are trying to spread rumours threatening our society. Moreover, Founders of social sites such as face book, whats app and instagram must be strict towards anti social elements so that untimely and bloody events may be checked or stopped from being materialized. For example, they can tighten up the security system by creating a strong password and using multi factor Authentication when possible. Establishing multi-dimensional public-private collaborations between different agencies, institutions, and industries could go a long way to protect the masses from being vulnerable. What is more, Moral and social pressure of local bodies such as panchayats and other non-governmental organizations over young generation can also help to mitigate this widespread problem.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that it is not possible to reverse the march of technology, but effective legislation by the government and collective efforts by the people are inevitable to combat the menace.