Major companies use sporting events to promote their products. Some people think it has a negative effect on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Sports play a magnificent role to uplift the standard of health, wealth and relationships. Presently, it is quite common to see sporting events being sponsored by companies and the participating teams and even individual players wearing logos on their uniforms to advertise the company products. However, it is claimed that this trend has adverse consequences on the sports. Here, I would like to accord with given statement.

To begin with, commercialization has changed the attitude of the players and jeopardized the true spirit of the game. To illustrate, companies offer lucrative packages to players that not only make the players acquisitive but also allure them to indulge more in earning rather than performing in their respective events. Hence, the materialistic attitudes of the sportsmen might hamper and defame the spirit of the game as they will consider it just as a business. Furthermore, consumers probably get tempted by inferior products in lieu of meeting and supporting their favourite celebrity players, who have endorsed those products or services.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, television viewers get to see a lot of advertisements of the sponsors during breaks in between their favorite programs. Therefore, this deviates their concentration thereby reducing the entertainment value of the programs they are watching. As a consequence, viewers may lose their interest in the sporting events due to excessive adverts being telecasted and interrupting their shows.

On the contrary, critics assert that advertising helps in increasing awareness about a company’s products as services. To elaborate, people easily get to know about new offerings by the corporate houses which are worthwhile to help masses decide about the products they want to buy. Thus, advertising plays paramount role to acquaint people with appropriate knowledge and information. What is more, promotion through well recognized brand ambassador helps in elevating sales and profits of a company.

To recapitulate, it can be stated that sponsorship is required for a sport to rise and reach out to common people but too much commercialization and advertisement have overshadowed the true meaning of sports and its spirit.