Many agricultural lands are being converted into commercial centres. How does this affect the environment and the people’s life style? Discuss this situation and provide suggestions. Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

There is no doubt that in this modern era farming has lost it’s importance due to sophisticated trading centres coming up everywhere in nations. This change is leading to serious problems in many nations. While it is observed that, many farmlands are being replaced by business centres, this may have an influence on natural habitat and person’s life. In this essay, I will discuss two problems that arise due to this change and propose some ways to mitigate this issue.

Firstly, continuous decrease in farmland areas lead to bad influence on our habitat. This is because, deforestation leads to soil erosion, which in turn makes healthy land unfavourable for agricultural purposes. Furthermore, this overcrowding and commercialization of cities are leading to imbalance in our ecosystem. For example, in my opinion, I am still healthy with strong immune system, because of fresh air and newly harvested fruits-vegetables in farmlands surrounding my city. The solution for this is that, government authorities should imply strict rules and penalties against buying or selling agricultural lands for commercial purpose. They can provide lands for such activities in centre of cities, thus leaving outskirts for farming purposes.

Secondly, lives of individual’s are getting affected by development of these modern trade centres. The reason for this is, food crisis affecting people, which is due to reduced farming areas. Moreover, these lands are responsible to maintain balance in demand and supply of food and vegetables, which has declined at fast pace. For instance, study done by one of United Kingdom’s news channel reported that, people who lived in cities which lost their agricultural grounds faced major food shortage, thus taking help from neighbouring states. The solution is that, people should be aware about hiked prices and chemical adulterations of food items done by business companies. Those people should promote idea of buying fresh from local farmer’s market, which would help them monetarily and boost their confidence.

However, farming and commercial centres both hold an important place in development of modern society and is beneficial to every human being.

In conclusion, while commercial activities are causing environmental deterioration and food crisis, people and government authorities must play a strict role in controlling this imbalance.