Many believe that modern technology has given us more leisure time than before while others say the opposite discuss both views and then give your own opinion.

Modern technology plays a vital role in people's spare time. Many believe that advanced technology gives us more free time than ever before. On the flip side, some say people's leisure time has been shrinking as a result of the tremendous advancing technology. The present essay seeks to discuss that the advantages of modern technology outweigh its disadvantages.

It is often suggested that modern technology brings us more free time for two main reasons. For one thing, modern kitchen appliances allow us to program them and decrease the time that we used to spend in our kitchen before. For instance, just like commercials on television and advertisements in magazines, new solar ovens can cook many recipes better and faster than before. Another thing is that new vehicle allows humans to travel faster and safer. As an illustration, today people can teleport from one part of the world to another part in just a few hours.

Although much of modern technology in our everyday lives has only positive effects, some uses bring controversial issues and questions. In the first place, millions of people listen to the news by their cellphones to keep abreast of the latest news about national and international events. An example may help clarify the point. In many developed countries, employers do not allow to use their cellphones during work time. In the second place, smartphones which have numerous interesting applications on it waste children's time inside and outside of school much more than we think they do. As things stand right now, modern technology may put the integrity of the family at risk.

By comparing and contrasting the positive and negative aspects of the influence of modern technology on our leisure time, I believe that its upside is significantly more crucial than its downside. To support my position, I would like to offer two primary arguments. Firstly, Doctor Steven, the well-versed head of the medical department of Sidney University, asserts that unarguably, improvement in people's living standards owes much to modern technology which entails too much free time and relaxes minds. Phones and emails bring us the opportunity of communicating with our friends and relatives who live in different parts of the globe instead of waiting weeks to receive a letter from them. Secondly, as has been frequently demonstrated, modern technology brings us a door to a new world, and we need to learn ways of using it in the best way. In other words, we need to take the initiative and begin to make an about-face in better use of the spare time which modern technology brings to us.

Based on the above, it can be stated that modern technology brings us more leisure time than ever before. Nevertheless, the question is: Can advance technology improve the health and happiness of human beings in general? Only time will tell, but in the meantime, science and technology continue to influence every aspect of our modern lives.