There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend that raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Higher education plays an integral role in modern life. Indubitably, it has a powerful influence on the way we see the world, and its effect is often positive. Many believe that higher education is quintessentially vital for our community. On the flip side, some say it has lots of drawbacks. This essay seeks to discuss that the advantages of higher education emulate its disadvantages.

It is often suggested that higher education is meritorious. For one thing, higher education entails an increase in the literacy rate of society. For instance, it will bring some advancing progress in technology which can be utilized in humankind's lives and make it easier than ever. Besides that, it can put the country among the advanced ones, and its main culprit is far more respects from other nations.

Sometimes we hear and read some issues and questions that raise controversial issues and questions related to higher education. In the first place, the education process can be very costly for governments. An example may help clarify the point. In many developing countries, the number of students reaches the pick, and it put those governments into grave calamity. The tax rate would be escalated in those countries due to repay the money problems.

By scrutinizing the positive and negative aspects of higher education, I firmly believe that its pros are significantly crucial than its cons. There is a myriad of arguments in favor of my stance. The most conspicuous one is Doctor Benet's beliefs. Doctor Benet, the well-versed head of the economy department of Sidney University, asserts that producing eminent scientists with higher education in comparing with other nations can be a very profitable trade. It can smooth over the national economic situation and can plow back the money which governments spent on them.

To sum up, it can be stated that the advantages of higher educations are more than its disadvantages. Nevertheless, the question is: Can it improve the health and happiness of human beings in general? Only time will tell, but in the meantime, higher education will continue to influence every aspect of our everyday lives.