Many children nowadays are spending more and more time inside rather than outside. Is this a positive or negative trend? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your knowledge or experience.

In recent years, more and more kids prefer doing indoor activities instead of going outside. In my point of view, this condition is a negative development which could generate low physical abilities, detrimental effects on health and isolation.

First of all, the most serious problem that could be witnessed by children who spend too much time at home is that low psychomotor abilities. It is mentioned most of the experts that young age is the golden time for individuals to start improving their physical skills.For instance, parents can encourage their children playing at the park so they can do more movements instead of playing at home in which usually has limited space. Thus, indoor-playing will limit children’s opportunities to move more than their regular activities.

Secondly, health problems, particularly bone-and-eyes related illness, is a potential effect of staying at home most of the time. Usually, children would have more access to online games and watching TV if they were let to stay at home. As a result, radiation from the screen brought negative effects on their eyes. Research conducted by the opthamologists association in Indonesia explained that the number of people under 12 years old wearing glasses increased by 20% in 2020. Furthermore, parents traditionally went outside for a walk with their kids in the morning to get Vitamin D because sunlight at that particular time is rich in Vitamin D. This vitamin is very beneficial for bone’s strength especially for young age. Therefore, children not going outside very often, especially in the morning, will probably suffer from Vitamin D deficiency.

Finally, it is imperative also to build children’s soft skills in socializing with others. However, by doing most of activities indoor, children would have less chance to meet new people. Therefore, it could lead to isolation.

In conclusion, it is essential for children to spend more time outside to avoid low psychomotor ability, health problems (particularly on eyes and bones) and isolation. Hence, performing most of activities indoor is undeniably a negative trend for children.