In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors and there is a lack of a sense of community.

What are the causes of this problem?

How can it be solved?

Nowadays, there are more and more people who live in urban areas lack interaction with those next door and lost a sense of community probably because of some reasons behind this phenomenon.This essay will outline some major causes leading to problem and feasible solutions to deal with it.

There are two primary reasons why it is common for neighbors in metropolis areas to interact less. To begin with, people are mostly occupied with their own works. Because of the hectic pace of life, people devoted themselves to handling their workload at workplace in order to have a higher standard of living. Therefore, they do not have time to socialize with their surrounding relationships instead of taking care of their children and entertaining themselves. Furthermore, the rapid growth of social media, people tend to use the social networking sites such as Facebook or Instagram as the effective and convenient ways to communicate with others on daily basics. In fact, those who have exposure to online conversation for a long term are likely to get difficulties when communicating with other people in the real life. As a result, this could reduce the sense of community.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. The first solution would be that individuals have to be aware of the problem and take the initiative to befriend with their neighbors by doing a favor when the next doors in need. Thus, this could strengthen their neighbor-ship. A second measure, the government should build more parks and children’s playgrounds in the living areas to let people socialize and know each other. Families who have children could encourage them to play in these places and strike up a friendship. In this way, it is helpful in meeting friends, bonding with family and neighbors.

In conclusion, while modern lifestyle and the advent of technology are two major factors causing the decrease in the sense of friendship in the community, practical solutions could be taken to tackle this problem by the government and individuals