Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as television, friends and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss about opinions and give your give your opinion.

Over the past decades, the issues centering on child’s growth has triggered a heated debate and it has been discussed by many people. It has been believed by some individuals that social factors have effects on child’s growth, while others opine that family holds greater power to affect a child's behavior in the development stages. Both views will be followed by a reasoned conclusion.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why there are factors external to the family that significantly impact on a child's development. Firstly, news reports shown on a television keep children updating with the latest information around the world. This could help them see things that will teach them about life. Secondly, another factor that exercises a great influence on a child's development is friend. Apart from television and the internet, children spend plenty of time with their friends and like listening to music. Friend also has an important influence as a child will often copy peers that they admire and respect. This could be a positive behavior but it could also be negative, such as smoking or text or taking drugs. Therefore, the rapid expansion of technology and cultural changes have significantly impacted the way in which a child will develop.

On the other hand, it is also understandable as to why family exerts the greatest influence on children. To begin with, parents and siblings used to be the first and fore most influence. Children are taught etiquette, code of ethics by parents at a very young age. Therefore, they might behave properly when communicating with others. Another reason is that children spend a huge amount of time being with parents at home and is easy for them to follow the way how problem are solved by their parents.

In conclusion, the mentioned suggest indicated that each view has the own its reasons. Although it is clear that factors such as music or friends have great effect on children, i believe that parents’ impacts seem to outweigh because they always stand by their children; hence, they will help them to take best advantages from social factors.