In many cities, an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors and there is a lack of a sense of community.

What are the causes of this problem?

How can it be solved?

It is true that the number of people who become unacquainted with their neighbors and a feeling of community is lacking has gained popularity. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted by governments and individuals to improve the situation.

There are two primary reasons why it is increasing common in a metropolis areas for neighbors to interact less. One reason is that people are mostly busy with their own work. They are living an especially busy and competitive life, works are now more competitive that make people work more hours and decrease their talking time with neighbors. When returning home after the hard –working days, they would take care of their children, watch television, use the computer and the internet or take other interests. They scarcely have any time to socialize with neighbors. In some situations, people do not even know who lives next door in city areas. Furthermore, social media is now rapidly developing and well-known by not only children but also adults. Making friends online boosts an individual's confidence and self-esteem, people usually feel shy and awkward when talking to new friends in real life. Social media brings people safe feelings, allows them to express themselves and it becomes easier to make friends than in real life. These are the everyday scenarios in the urban area where social interactions could be rarely seen as individuals have no time to socialize and are much focused on their own works or personal interests.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. The first solution would be organized programs regularly to improve a sense of community in the neighborhood community. In addition, organizing different community groups help people find others with the same interests and share common passions is a very effective measure to help people enhance their neighboring bonds and relationship. A second measure would be building more parks and children’s playgrounds in the community to let people socialize and know each other. Families who have children could let them play in these places and strike a friendship. In this way, it is helpful for meeting friends, bonding with family and neighbors.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for developing a sense of friendship in the community, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.