In many cities an increasing number of people do not know their neighbors and they lack a sense of community. What are the causes? How to solve this problem?

It is true that people nowadays usually do not have good relationships with their neighbors, and there could be various reasons that lead to a loss of ability to get on well with people who live near your house. In my opinion, there can be some possible solutions to deal with the problem.

As the improvement in the quality of life, people have tendencies to stay in their comfort zones instead of going out talking to people around them. The main reason for lacking senses of community is shortages of time. The amount of work tends to considerably increase due to the development of the society which prevents people from meeting each other regularly. People are often busy with their own work and they do not have time enjoying themselves, therefore, it is understandable that they tend to spend their free time relaxing at home rather than having time talking to people in their neighborhood. For example, at weekend, many people choose to stay at home spending time with their families, watching television or surfing the Internet instead of going out.

However, there are some steps that government could take to tackle the problem. The first objection is that they can invest money in the buildings of social places such as parks, playgrounds for children, community centres, etc, which can help to improve the relationships between people in the city. For example, parents can bring their youngsters with them to a park where there is a playing area, then they can not only enjoy themselves by going for a walk and talking to the others but also do not have to keep an eye on their children. Secondly, the local government can organise some social events and programmes for citizens to participate in. For instance, they can hold a lecture in which people can learn about life in urban areas or a programme which provides local people opportunities with to work in teams and build relationships.

In conclusion, there are still some possible solutions to solve the problem to enhance the quality of life for all city residents.