In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this overweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that home education in which many parents begin teaching their children themselves at home has become commonplace worldwide. While this method of education tends to bring some advantages, I believe that the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits.

On one hand, there are some main reasons that lead to a considerable increase in the number of home-educated children. The first objection is that this mean of education provides opportunities for parents to take great care of their youngsters. When students take lessons at their own houses, parents can easily identify their children’s weaknesses and then prevent them from having difficulties in studying as one-to-one lessons allow much faster progress. For instance, homeschooling students can ask their parents or tutors when there are some misunderstandings in the lessons or when they face a tough problem. The second reason is that home-based education is more convenient for families who live in distant areas with poor means of transportation because they are offered lessons directly at home instead of going to school.

On the other hand, I believe that home education might bring more negative effects than positive ones. The first thing is that private lessons are usually costly as it requires one tutor for a particular field and there are often more than ten subjects which students have to learn. As a result, a family who has a meager budget cannot afford this way of education. Another reason why parents should not apply this way of teaching is that children cannot receive enough social experiences which they can be provided at school. If students just learn things in theory but not practical ones, they will lack social skills and cannot get on well with the other people. For example, almost homeschooling students tend to be shy and reserved as they might lose the abilities to solve realistic problems. Therefore, in my view, it is more advantageous to send children to school when they are old enough.

In conclusion, it seems to me that there will be more drawbacks than benefits of homeschooling education.