In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

In recent years, video surveillance has become common place in many cities. However, some people think that the presence of cameras violate the privacy of people that the presence of cameras violate. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks.

There are two main reasons why people might disapprove of the use of video cameras in public places. Firstly, the video cameras invade personal space of people by recording their actions continuously. Many people feel that the recording of their movements is a form of state control that curtails their individual freedom. Furthermore, the video cameras are part of technology, which can be hacked and stolen information by hacker. This information could be put into use for malicious purposes. However, the crimes can cover their faces while stealing. This case, these security cameras are useless.

On the positive side, the key objective of video cameras are to deter criminals and to prevent crime. For example, petty criminals like shoplifters and pickpockets are less likely to operate in parts of cities because they know the place that they are being watched and they will abstain from perpetrating the criminal act in the future. In addition to that, recorded footage can be used in court as strong evidence. After that, when crimes are committed, the police can use video evidence to catch and prosecute offenders.

In conclusion, I think that the benefit of video cameras outweigh the drawbacks because video cameras offer valuable support to police officers, and they make cities safer for inhabitants, workers and visitors alike.