The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

In recent year, tourism is developing in many country and English is becoming the most outstanding language in the world. Some people believe that English will become the only language to be spoken around the world. This essay will examine the main advantages and drawbacks of having a single universal language.

One evident benefit to having to study a second language. After that, we can save time and save the money to study language. For example, a woman is so busy to work and does not have time to study and if the second language does not have, she will not study and spend more time to work. Moreover, we are ease of communication among several countries and an improved inter-country relationship. Due to a universal language, it would be really easy to communicate with other countries and cooperate with each other. For instance, a US citizen can freely communicate with a Japanese and this would improve the revenue for the tourism of Japan. All people speaking the same language, there will be fewer barriers and therefore trade would flourish between countries, resulting in a healthier world economy.

The main disadvantage is the extinction of their culture because language is a part of culture. Having only one global language would mean that all other languages would eventually disappear and, along with a common culture. Each culture is unique with their own way of life and own perspectives of the world which would all be lost if there were only one language. This leads is an extinction of local language and local culture that have been preserved by the ancestors for a long time.

In conclusion,having a only language is beneficial for every country and improves the relationship among them, however, I think that the drawbacks of having only one global language outweigh the benefits because preserving a country's national identity and culture of country is more important than economic development.