In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of in increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Many people believe that using video cameras help preventing crimes while the others strongly disagree with that opinion because they afraid of violating the human rights of freedom. In my opinion, the beneficial effects of increasing security using video cameras do outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, increasing the number of cameras in public make the resident living in that area feel like being followed and they can not have their own privacy to do what they like. Their activities are constantly be observed by those device. Their faces and their movements would be recorded and sent to security organizations, ready to be analyzed if necessary. Furthermore, the government could collect the information of every citizen and this could be very dangerous because the hacker can attack the main computers then draw the citizen’s information for blackmail purposes.

On the other hand, surveillance camera system helps protect society from many threats and provides people with a sense of safety and security. For instance, if there is a burglary in a residential area, it would be easier for the policemen to identify the robber and catch him as soon as possible thank to the images about the theft recorded by security cameras. Also, previously collected information on the citizen would make the investigation more effective. As well, widespread surveillance in public areas would greatly contribute to crime reduction by deterring potential criminals from engaging in unlawful activities, when they know that security cameras are recording their every move.

Inconclusion, the benefits we gain from installing cameras in public places is outweigh the negative consequences. The safety of people should be considered the most important factor among those questions related to human rights.