In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that surveillance cameras are becoming more and more popular in public places in cities across the world to combat crime, whereas there are also arguments that this trend negatively affects citizens’ freedom. Personally, I believe that the rise in the number of CCTV cameras has some advantages, but they are overshadowed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, the increasing use of video cameras in public areas and buildings has two primary benefits. Firstly, these cameras are an effective tool for police to identify and catch criminals as their faces and actions are all recorded by CCTV cameras. Secondly, the growing number of surveillance cameras in public buildings can act as a warning for people who intend to commit crimes. Due to the installation of video cameras in schools in Vietnam, for example, the quantity of robberies among students has been decreasing steadily.

On the other hand, the rising popularity of CCTV cameras, in my opinion, does more harm than good for city residents. If people go to the park only to find that they are watched by too many cameras, they may feel uncomfortable and therefore cannot freely enjoy the fresh air or their workout. Another drawback is that offenders will become much more dangerous if this technology falls into their hands. With access to CCTV cameras installed everywhere in the city except for private houses, stalkers or murderers can track their prey more quickly, and this can result in more serious damage to the victims.

In conclusion, it seems to me that increasing security by using more video cameras is beneficial in some ways, but it is likely that the disadvantages are more significant.