Crimes committed by young people are increasing in major cities throughout the world. Discuss the causes and how to solve this problem.

It is true that there are more and more juvenile delinquents in many parts of the world. There are some reasons for this trend, and it can also be tackled by taking various measures.

The global increase in youth crime can be possibly caused by two main factors. Firstly, the majority of children and teenagers nowadays have access to the Internet, so they are likely to be exposed to violent and sexual content. With the help of an Internet connection, young people can watch thrillers and horror films which contain bloody scenes, such as “The Shining” or “The Witch”, and this may encourage them to develop anti-social behaviour. Secondly, most parents in today’s society, especially those in metropolitans, have an increasingly hectic pace of life. Due to busy work schedules, they do not have a lot of time for their children, so they cannot be aware when their offspring get involved with gangs and start to commit petty crimes.

In order to address this issue, there is a range of actions can be taken. Schools and parents should join forces and try their best to educate young students to become decent and productive citizens in the future. Another solution would be for international governments to ban books, films and TV programmes with obscene language or other contents that are detrimental to the cognitive development and mental health of youngsters. Finally, there should be harsher punishments, like steeper fines or even imprisonment, for juvenile offenders.

In conclusion, there are two key factors leading to the rise in the number of young criminals all over the world, and this problem can be solved in at least three different ways.