The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of these people?

It is true that the number of residents in many cities has been rising dramatically. This trend has various negative influences on the lives of people in these cities, and several measures can be taken to address this issue.

The rapid growth of the population of a city has two major effects on its citizens. Firstly, more people means that more vehicles are on the streets, and this leads to a higher level of air pollution. As a result, citizens of populated cities are at a higher risk of health problems, especially respiratory diseases. Those who are living in metropolitans like Shanghai or Beijing in China, for example, always wear face masks when going outdoors due to the heavily polluted atmosphere in these cities which can cause lung cancer. Secondly, if there are too many people living in the same place, there may be more social problems such as high rates of crime, traffic congestion and even road accidents.

To ensure a high quality of life for people in cities with an increasing population, there are many steps that can be taken. The first step would be for governments to promote campaigns which sensitise people to the importance of environmental protection and being more health-conscious. Authorities can also incentivise scientific research, as advances in science and technology are one of the most effective ways to combat environmental pollution. Finally, more job opportunities in the countryside should be created so that many young people will not have the need to move to big cities in search of a well-paid job.

In conclusion, the dramatic increase in the number of inhabitants of many cities mainly negatively affects citizens in two ways, and at least three solutions can be used to tackle this problem.