Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People have differing views about the importance of homework in the education of children. While it can be argued that teachers should not give their students, especially children, tasks to be solved after school, I agree with the idea that homework is vital for a successful education system.

On the one hand, there are some good reasons for teachers not giving homework to children. Firstly, many students these days have a busy timetable at school. Vietnamese students, for example, have to go to school early in the morning and only go home in the evening, so they should be allowed to spend the rest of their days for family and recreational activities instead of doing their homework. Secondly, it is generally accepted that children learn most of their knowledge and skills through playing rather than lessons from their teachers. By having fun with friends, young students can improve their reaction, problem-solving and even teamwork skills, all of which are useful for their future careers.

On the other hand, I believe that it is necessary for students to have extra work to do after classes. Due to the increasing popularity of the Internet, a lot of children now play online computer games for hours after going home from school, leaving no time for the revision of what they have learned in their classes. If these children do not have any homework as a reminder, they will quickly forget their knowledge and cannot pass their exams with high marks. For that reason, giving homework to young students is a good way to ensure the quality of primary and secondary education.

In conclusion, although there are good arguments for the ban on homework for children, it seems to me that it is essential for teachers to give their students problems to solve when they are at home.