Task 2.The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of people?

The rapidly increasing population in many cities nowadays brings about various effects on people living there. Challenges are how to maintain the quality of life. This essay will discuss both these impacts and solutions.

There are three effects that should be mentioned. Firstly, residents' growth can lead to overload transportation and traffic congestion. Because the development of transport infrastructure would not catch up with the increase of population. Secondly, environmental pollution would be an issue. A huge amount of waste in the metropolis as a result of crowded residents. People could not process this rubbish in time, which can cause pollution in water and air. Thirdly, the rise of people living in cities can promote more economic opportunities. Crowded cities might attract businesses and industries, leading to more job opportunities and economic growth. This positive effect can improve living standards for numerous residents.

To maintain the quality of residents' life in these cities, it is necessary for collaboration between the city authority and individuals. The first solution would be to invest in infrastructure. Cities should upgrade and expand their infrastructure to accommodate the growing population including improvement of public transportation, building affordable houses, and healthcare and education facilities. Moreover, to minimize the impact of the environment, the authorities in these cities should encourage using public transport, foster cycling or walking, create green space, and at the same time cities should have plans for sustainable development. Finally, these cities should ensure to develop economic diversification by attracting a range of industries and supporting small businesses to create a flexible market.

All in all, the growth of residents in cities can have both advantages and disadvantages on people living in them. Managing this problem is complex, however with thoughtful planning, investment and participation of the community, it is possible to maintain or even improve the quality of life of residents.