Many companies sponsor sports to advertise their products or service. What advantages and disadvantages does this bring for the teams and individuals that these companies sponsor?

Promoting products or services through sponsoring sports is widely used by many companies. There are several merits and demerits from this issue which I will elaborate in the following paragraph.

Considering the benefits, using sport in product endorsement offers the bigger promotion of both companies and teams, particularly long-term investment. Along with joining prestigious tournaments, the growing popularity and becoming company profile could offer corporation with a captive and ready audience to develop a brand’s value. Recently, Fly Emirates sponsorship elevates Real Madrid performance to the top of European football club. Furthermore, this also gives each individual the opportunity to expand their career prospects, for instance becoming a well-known person. It is showed by Nike-Michael Jordan collaboration, basketball shoe line, generates a market that impact on consumers thinking patterns, particularly fans always buying their idol’s stuffs.

In contrast, we should emphasize some drawbacks of this issue that the sport club commercialism does not guarantee positive feedbacks, contractual agreements can restrict the flexibility of team's management. The commitment to fulfil the demands of the agreement causes work pressure, which sometimes means the team's performance is fluctuated, since the team may have bad luck and lose several games. Moreover, terrible scandal involving athletes creates reputational crisis that results in significant losses, similar to Ronaldo's motion of moving a Coca-Cola bottle. Together with media exposure, this incompetency leads to greater untrustworthy with the stakeholders which may decrease purchasing intentions and desired outcomes.

In summary, the positives of endorsing sport may uplift company and sport presence in public and enhance individual to have wider job opportunity. However, the negatives of this promotion are club’s limited access in various activities and bad athlete profiling due to lack of credibility endorsement.