Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that economic growth lead to higher living standards in many countries, while others believe that it has a negative effect on society. While I accept that economic development has both benefits and drawbacks, I would argue that there are more disadvantages than advantages.

It is certainly true that economic growth can enhance community living standards. Firstly, in a period of increasing economic, employees usually have a better salary. By having more money, they might buy high-quality goods and services that are able to satisfy their needs and make up fuller life. Secondly, economic development ensures the improving quality of life as more money is available for governments to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, the expanding of business could create more new jobs, as the results, the government can invest in the country’s transport network, its education system, and its hospitals, instead of tackling unemployment problems.

However, I would argue that many serious environmental degradations is caused by economic growth. The rapid expansion of industrial factories depletes – and will eventually exhaust - natural resources. For example, fossil fuels used in many industries such as electricity, heating, and transportation. As a result, our planet is facing an ecological crisis, which will result in the extinction of most species. In addition, while natural resources are essential inputs for production in many sectors, production and consumption also lead to pollution and other pressures on the environment. The burning of coal and oil result in air pollution and global warming, through the release of greenhouse gases. These environmental problems then impact on local communities like a higher risk for asthma, for example, may result from air pollution.

In conclusion, while economic growth contributes to the improvement of living standard, I would argue that all businesses should care about sustainable development.