There is no doubt that economic advancement is the driving force toward a nation’s success. Although some countries are trying to improve their way of living by financial development, some traditional values are getting sacrificed while going through this process. In my opinion, the benefits brought by good economy far outweigh its drawbacks

Admittedly, there are some minor drawbacks to placing too much importance on financial prosperity. First of all, striving for economic growth can cause the citizens to become money-orientated and more materialistic. In other words, after meeting the basic needs, people often overindulge themselves in luxurious lifestyles, which make them forget about the traditional social values, such as value of moderation rather than excess. For instance, a recent study revealed that 70% of the British people think that everything can be bought with money, even friendship and love. Consequently, this negative thinking is not only detrimental to individuals but also it holds back the progression of a country. Moreover, parents are so busy working for money that they overlook the importance of family and the value of a close-knit family is often obliterated as a consequence.

Nevertheless, despite having some minor drawbacks, I believe that a financially stable country has many advantages over a poor nation. One of the most obvious benefits is that it can dispel poverty and enhance the quality of life. This is because, a healthy economy means better job opportunities, higher employment rates and higher income for the citizens. Additionally, an economically strong nation can invest in the country’s infrastructure, such as schools, hospitals and transport network, paving the way to more educated and healthier citizens. For example, Japan has emerged as one of the most successful nation in the last decade due to continuous efforts to propel its economy forward. If Japanese people had only thought about losing the traditional values by risking economic development, they would have not been able to achieve success in the field of finances

In conclusion, I believe that every country needs to work towards economic development as it brings immense benefits, namely improved way of living and financial stability; however, government needs to be careful not to lose the important traditional values on this process.