In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Write at least 250 words.

Recently, medical technologies development has increased rapidly, which makes human’s longevity increased a lot. Although there are many merits of living longer, the number of downsides of this problem is considerable. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the problem, as well as giving my thought.

On the one hand, the increase in the length of life offers some considerable benefits. First, many people can have more time to fulfill their wishes and desires. Most people spend insufficient time on hobbies at their young ages due to the large amount of work they have to do for their family economics. Moreover, people living longer can benefit for a longer time from the wisdom handed down to them by older members of their families. Therefore, when they can live longer, they will be able to achieve their ambition, doing the activities which they do not have time to do at their earlier ages.

However, the rise of longevity can cause several problems. As you are staying alive longer, you will have to suffer from many of the permanent sickness. You will need more medical care, turning yourself into a burden for not only your family but also for the whole society. Health issues, particularly chronic health problems like diabetes and back pain, are more common in older individuals. If an older person is unable to do many of the activities that they want to do, it could lead to the likelihood of depression and a deterioration in their physical health.

In conclusion, the increase of life expectancy has both benefits and drawbacks as your mental and physical strength decreases greatly as the longer you live. But in my opinion, its advantages can easily outweigh the disadvantages.