To what extent does the Internet increase social cohesion?

Nowadays, the Internet is very important in modern life, it can help to connect people much easier in the era of technology. While everything has its negative effect, this essay will discuss two sides of this debate.

First, Internet can rob time for a face-to-face meeting, which isolates people from each other. For example, a shy teen who uses Internet a lot will always surf the net, which makes him losing social skills and real friends. Moreover, a couple who is addicted to online gaming can be arrested for child neglect. In addition, spending all morning reading emails at work can result in a lack of time for the meeting, causing a bad effect on teamwork.

However, Internet can also bring people closer together. When you are stuck at home because of the pandemic, you can not get around with your friends normally. The Internet can be used to keep in touch with them, so your relationship will hardly be affected. Furthermore, while phone calls are too expensive, the Internet can be used to stay in touch with family when studying abroad, saving lots of money for both callers. By writing emails and instant messages, the Internet is more useful than a phone if you need to write records, which might be much harder than just typing the thing you want to say and click the “send” button.

In conclusion, the Internet can create more togetherness but can also decrease social cohesion. If it’s used in the right way, it should bring many benefits to the users.