As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Because shelter is a human fundamental need, opinions are divided on whether the government should provide accommodation for people who cannot afford one at no cost. In my opinion, one should strive by themselves to purchase a house instead of waiting for a free provision from the government.

On the one hand, it could be argued that a free provision of housing is necessary for those who cannot afford it. Advocates of this idea claim that if people didn’t even have a place to live, they could not enhance their living conditions. This is because homeless people are always considered to be uneducated, and because of the lack of shelter, their appearance is also affected badly. As a result, it is hard for them to find employment, making them continue to live that miserable life. However, I think this line of reasoning is not sound. Because homeless people don’t need to do anything to have a house, they will not appreciate it. This leads to the likelihood of them continuing with a lazy lifestyle and wasting that privilege from the government.

On the other hand, I believe free accommodation should not be provided free for the homeless people by the government because of creating unfairness in society. With the emergence of that policy, while many ordinary people must try their best, save money to buy a house, some underprivileged ones don’t need to do anything, however, they are still able to get accommodation. This unfair situation can trigger social disagreement and resentment, which later can lead to a large number of people quitting their job, an obvious decrease in the economy, and even some boycotts of the government created by the richer ones.

In conclusion, I believe the free provision of housing from the government for those who are homeless is unnecessary because not having a house can be a motivation for them to strive. Also, that policy can create some acts of aggression from the public, especially those who can afford a house.