In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

Recently, medical technologies development has increased rapidly, which makes human’s longevity increased by a lot. Although there are many merits of living longer, the number of downsides of this problem is considerable. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the problem, as well as giving my thought.

First, many people can have more time to fulfill their wishes and desires. Most people spend insufficient time on hobbies at their young ages due to the large amount of work they have to do for their family economics. Therefore, when they can live longer, they will be able to achieve their ambition, doing the activities which they do not have time to do at their earlier ages. Moreover, they can stay longer with their family, which will cause fewer mental issues for their beloved ones.

However, the rise of longevity can cause several problems. As you are staying alive longer, you will have to suffer from many of the permanent injuries. You will have to get more medical care, turning yourself into a burden for not only your family but also for the whole society. Health issues, particularly chronic health problems like diabetes and back pain, are more common in older individuals. While the number of elderly people increases, the development of the country will be slowed down since your physical body will slowly break down and you will not be able to maintain your job.

In conclusion, I would argue that the drawbacks of increasing life expectancy are outweighed the benefits.