As housing is a basic need for people, the government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A shelter is compulsory for every person, but not everyone can afford proper accommodation to live in, which is why free housing should be provided to the underprivileged people by the government. Not only will this ensure their safety, but it can also bring merits to other people, including the government themselves.

To begin with, staying in a house is much safer than having to live outside. Because of the rough weather, it is unpredictable whether the weather will be sunny or rain, so a house could be a perfect protection from being harmed by nature. Moreover, in many industrial countries, the air which contains a high amount of smoke and dust from vehicles on the streets can be poisonous to everyone, so staying indoors definitely is a better option for those who are sensitive to these kinds of things.

Moreover, providing free accommodation can reduce the number of crimes. In some nations, many homeless people are likely to commit crimes for money and valuables, which are used to purchase essentials like food and drink. A free provision of accommodation can not only give them an opportunity to get a job but also deter them from stealing others’ property. In addition, this can also help reduce poverty in a country, which is really beneficial to the government.

To conclude, providing free housing to those who cannot afford one is necessary to protect them against the weather as well as to reduce the number of crimes and poverty in a country.