In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, local residents living in the rural areas tend to relocate in large metropolis, and this phenomenon results in a decreased number of individuals in the countryside. From my own point of view, this development might influence detrimentally to the prospection of many nations across the globe.

On the first hand, the number of people living in towns and villages has witnessed a dramatic decrease, which leads to the lack of labor force in the countryside where the investment for development is more necessary than cities. In fact, many outskirt areas do not receive sufficient allocations from the government to the renovation of countryside. As a result, the young generations find that there is no point in applying for an occupation in the rural regions, so a huge proportion of the young people migrate to the big cities in search for more well-paid jobs. However, this causes the serious reduction in the actions to reconstruct the villages and towns. In other words, living standard in the countryside might not be enhanced, which is the major reason for the sufferings from hunger and illness of the local people.

On the other hand, with the large number of citizens living in urban regions, pollution in big cities is unavoidable. As a matter of fact, more population in the metropolis is synonymous with more consumption and more waste from the increasing number of households. By way of illustration, Hanoi city, the capital of Vietnam, has suffered from noise pollution for more than two decades because of the rise in private vehicles and the breakthrough of tall buildings or apartments. Nowadays, most households in Hanoi own at least an automobile or a bike that emit a noticeable amount of noise. Additionally, the construction of tall buildings takes a considerable period of time, which partly annoy the way of living of city residents. Consequently, the prolonged exposure to high level of noise might lead to health deterioration among the city population, especially hearing problems. Some surveys have indicated that the noise in Hanoi sometime reaches 150 decibels, which affect negatively to our hearings.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the migration of rural population to the urban areas would have a wide range of deleterious impact on the way we live our ordinary life.