In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy.

Some people think that the government should have the responsibility.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many Western countries, childhood obesity is considered as a typical sign of deteriorating public health. Many people blame this situation on the governments but from my point of view, not only authorities but also parents and children themselves have to combat the childhood obesity crisis.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that governments’ aim is to guarantee the physical well-beings of the citizenships. Therefore, it means that when they realize any potential problem, they should be the first to put forward measures to take actions. A simple solution would to encourage regular exercise and healthy diets through advertising on social media. However, I doubt they still any further roles to play apart from this methodology.

On the other hand, both parents and youngsters should take on their responsibilities for obesity among teenagers. Children are becoming excess of nutrition due primarily to inappropriate nutrients from their food, which then proves parents’ poor choice of diet for their offspring. In order to mitigate this problem, they should have a tendency of choosing healthy eating patterns that contain less sugar and fat. Moreover, adolescents nowadays are leading a more sedentary lifestyle than in the past. This can be exemplified by the fact that technological advances leads to a higher number of recreational in the leisure time such as video games, social platforms. Thus, they would prefer to stay in their room and glue to screens rather than exercise on a daily basis. In this case, parents have to raise their sons and daughters’ awareness of the hazards involved these electronic devices as well as force them to go outside to do more physical tasks or exercises.

In conclusion, although there are many people argue that governments should have all their responsibilities on controlling overweight and unhealthy children, I personally reckon that both the families and the authorities should try their best to curb the obesity epidemic.