In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that this is the responsibility of government to solve the problem. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, childhood obesity has aroused public attention and become a typical sign of deteriorating social health all over the world. Notwithstanding some people believe governments should take the full responsibility to improve this situation, the vital role of parents and schools should be far more significant.

On the one hand, the role of the competent government is to ensure the balance of children's eating habit. First, since fast food, especially fried and fatty ones, gains popularity in children's daily meals, redundant energy accumulated under the form of grease causes obesity and related diseases. For that reason, the government should enact legislation that prevent food companies from producing unhealthy convenience food as well as advertising them on mass media which indirectly keeps children away from high-calories-contained food with a high level of preservatives. Second, the more children prefer staying at home, playing online games and watching TV to playing outdoor and sports activities, the more energy absorbed from fast food is not consumed. Thus, the government should facilitate equipment at parks or schools as well as organize some campaigns to foster playing sport's awareness of children.

On the other hand, the duty to combat childhood obesity in children should not fall on the government alone, parents need to share this nation burden. From what has been mentioned, children's way of life is the gist for their health problems and it is parents that should be primarily liable for this matter. First, as an obese child is often malnourished and does not receive appropriate nutrients, parents should always keep an eye on what their children are eating and educate them about the consequences of an unbalanced diet. Adding that parents are recommended to cook at home and form an appropriate habit of eating in children which leads to limiting the amount of fast-food consumed by the kids. Second, obesity can be caused by a lack of physical activities resulting in the sedentary lifestyle by a large number of youths. Parents should spend more time playing with their offspring and encourage them to have more physical tasks and exercises on a daily basis.

The government should do what they want to curb the overweightness in children, no matter how small impacts might be. It is true that parents are to blame to this issue and need to take responsibility for their kid's unhealthy condition.