In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the problem of childhood obesity has become more and more serious in some nations. Whilst there is a school of thought that the government should be accountable for tackling this problem, I assume that this is also the obligation of parents.

To commence with, the government could diminish the number of overweight teenagers through certain effective ways. First and foremost, the national authorities should focus on educating children about the detrimental impacts of being obese. For instance, the national budget should be located for some healthcare programs on social media where nutrition experts would give young audiences detailed explanations about obesity’s harmful effects as well as measures, such as doing exercise, and more vegetable diets, to curb this illness. In addition, States have the power to prohibit or reduce the frequency of advertisements on foods and drinks that contain high levels of sugar and fat. In fact, since 2017, a ban on junk foods and soft drink advertisements before 9 p.m. has come into effect in the UK. Overall, in such ways, an active, healthy diet and lifestyle are formed among each citizen.

However, the responsibility of preventing the young generation from being overweight cannot solely be the government’s onus since parents also play a vital role in forming a child’s healthy lifestyle and balanced eating habits. To be more specific, because it is parents who directly prepare daily meals for their offspring, parents’ knowledge about nutrition and eating routines partly impact teenagers' physical development. Indeed, if parents are keen on more fast food consumption, they are likely to let their children eat the same which results in the obesity problem. Moreover, in the case of living with parents who rarely work out and do not take care of their children’s daily activities, teenagers have an inclination to be lazy and prefer sedentary. Indeed, many children are spending the whole weekend in front of computers or television and this leads to fat bodies usually getting ill.

In conclusion, overweight illness is destroying many children’s health day by day in modern society. From my point of view, not only the Government but also parents should take action to address this matter.