More and more people today are spending large amounts of money on their complexions to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative progression?

Modern society has witnessed increasing individual investment in various beauty treatments and products to achieve a more youthful appearance. This essay will elaborate on the underlying reasons for this phenomenon and argue that it is a negative development.

To commence with, the increasingly popular trend towards complexion enhancements can be attributed to two primary reasons. First and foremost, contemporary culture often associates youthfulness with success, attractiveness, and vibrancy, and people believe that following societal beauty standards like the people around them makes them more confident and happier. In South Korea which is a country well-known for the cosmetic industry, the desire to have a younger look stems from the beauty standards shaped by celebrities and famous artists. It is the media and advertising industry that amplified the importance of a younger look enticing people, regardless of age and gender, into spending money on an anti-aging treatment. Moreover, In certain professions, a youthful appearance can contribute to career success and competitiveness. The flight attendant career is the prime example as apart from knowledge and interpersonal skills tests, this position prefers candidates who have a pretty appearance or meet the basic requirement which is having clear skin complexions.

From my point of view, this trend impacts detrimentally on society’s development. The first reason for my argument is that excessive pursuit of an anti-aging process could turn into an obsession with unrealistic beauty standards, possibly leading to depression and low self-esteem among those who may feel they fall short of these standards. Consequently, this inadvertently creates a culture that overlooks the true values of people including their knowledge, experiences, and characters. Another justification for my viewpoint relates to the potential health risks that some cosmetic procedures and substances can pose. Specifically, recent years have reported numerous cases of facial rashes, severe allergies, or even skin tissue damage among people who undergo invasive procedures or overuse cosmetics, some of which unfortunately resulted in hospitalization.

In conclusion, the increased public spending on complexion improvement probably results from the influence of social standards and one’s desire for career progression. Nevertheless, I believe that this trend is negative due to body image pressure and dangerous health problems.