In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the problem of childhood obesity has become more and more serious in some nations. Whilst there is a school of thought that the government should be accountable for tackling this problem, I assume that this is also the obligation of parents and schools.

To commence with, the government could diminish the number of overweight teenagers through certain effective ways. First and foremost, the national authorities should focus on educating children about the detrimental impacts of being obese. For instance, the national budget should be located for some healthcare programs on social media where nutrition experts would give young audiences detailed explanations about obesity’s harmful effects as well as measures, to curb this illness. In addition, States have the power to prohibit or reduce the frequency of advertisements on foods and drinks that contain high levels of sugar and fat. In fact, since 2017, a ban on junk foods and soft drink advertisements before 9 p.m. has come into effect in the UK to let children stay away from fast food.

However, preventing the young generation from being overweight cannot solely be the government’s onus since parents and schools also play a vital role in forming a child’s healthy lifestyle. Firstly, because it is parents who directly prepare daily meals for their offspring, well awareness about nutrition and balanced eating routines of parents partly facilitate teenagers' well-rounded physical development. In contrast, if parents are keen on more fast food consumption, they are likely to let their children eat the same which results in the obesity problem. Secondly, apart from providing academic curriculums, schools should also organize sporty activities and encourage students to participate. Many children have an inclination to be lazy and prefer to be sedentary so interesting outdoor activities at school would help with energy-burning processes and lessen stress in studying.

In conclusion, fatness has become a typical sign of the deteriorating young generation’s health in modern society. From my point of view, not only the Government but also parents and schools should take action to address this matter.