In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that schoolchildren should be encouraged to have a paid job because it brings more work experience, knowledge, and responsibility to young people. Although this is true to some extent, it is my belief that children should not be promoted to do paid work.

Obviously, remunerative activities may offer several benefits. Firstly, these who are getting a paid job in early school age can gain more work experience than those who do nothing. For example, some waged jobs like restaurant server will help children to have more opportunities to improve communication when they serve clients. secondly, children can learn a meaningful lesson about the value of money and become more responsible for their life. If children believe that it would be easy to earn good money without much effort, they will impulse buying and not set aside for the future.

However, I would argue that the drawbacks are more significant than benefits. Firstly, having paid work make people neglect in their school programs. this is because schoolchildren do not have enough time to do homework, which consolidates their concepts learned at school. Hence, it would be difficult for students to attain high achieving academic results. secondly, child laborers are often exploited at the workplace by their employers. For instance, some companies such as Nike tends to employ children in developing countries to stitch soccer balls because they can save a huge sum by paying children less than others.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of getting paid work outweigh the possible benefits.