In many countries, children participate in some paid work in their spare time. Some people think that this is wrong, but others believe that such work will extend children’s knowledge and increase their sense of responsibility. What is your opinion?

The issue of whether children should replace free time with paid jobs is arousing different opinions. Some people believe that doing paid work could benefit children’s knowledge and foster a sense of responsibility whilst others completely disagree. In my opinion, I believe that working at a young age has its merits and demerits.

On the one hand, many individuals are of the opinion that such work could enhance children’s interpersonal skills and encourage them to be more responsible in life. If children are given opportunity to part-time jobs such as selling coffee or making deliveries, they could better their communication skills by taking orders from customers or driving abilities by delivering goods safely to different locations. Moreover, working part-time could provide children with crucial knowledge when tackling with accidents in the workplace. Since numerous incidents during work cannot be prevented, children need experience from their part-time jobs to be able to face difficulties with ease.

On the other hand, some people are against the idea that children work in their spare time. Firstly, opponents are afraid of labour exploitation as there are some business being accused of exploiting child workers by underpaying and overworking them. Furthermore, some think that children’s safety could not be guaranteed when work accidents happen. For instance, child coffee sellers might injure themselves due to their unfamiliarity with the equipment.

From my perspective, working at a young age could include both advantages and disadvantages as children could both obtain invaluable skills for their future from different jobs and risk their safety because of lack of experience and immaturity.

In conclusion, participating in some paid work not only expands children’s knowledge and increases responsibility, but it could also carry risks of safety and exploitation. Therefore, I think that although children working in spare time has its benefits, its drawbacks are undeniable.