In many countries, the costs of living are rising. What are the effects on individuals and society? Suggest solutions to this problem.

It is true that a growth in living expenses is witnessed in many nations due to industrialization and urbanization. This essay will discuss the adverse effects on individuals and the society associated with this phenomenon and then offer some feasible solutions to it.

There are many problems resulting from rising costs of living, two of which are increased crime rate and the widened gap between rich and poor. Regarding the first issue, when poor people have to allocate a large portion of their budget on rent while receiving a low income, they may suffer from financial instability. Consequently, this poor economic condition, along with more expensive house costs, could cause a higher likelihood of homelessness, hence the poor's being seduced to commit crimes to earn a living. Another reason is that while the upper class can afford the higher costs for amenities as they have a higher income, the middle and lower classes hardly manage to do so. This financial rift can cause class tensions to arise to an uncontrollable extent in the long run.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be adopted by the government to tackle the situation. The first possible approach is that the authority can sponsor affordable housing targeting low-income and underprivileged communities, as well as enact rent control laws in order to protect long-term renters from gentrification. As a result, the likelihood of criminal activities is decreased since there are less homeless people. The second remedy is that the authority could redistribute the income from the rich to the poor to help people whose social status are inferior. This can lead to a rise in the average income and more affordable houses, and in turn creates a more equal society where people can have equal access to resources that help them live a fulfilling life regardless of their social class.

In conclusion, as many countries become more and more urbanized and industrialized, the fact that living expenditures are growing can give rise to many consequences, especially the crime rate increasing and the social gap being widened. However, steps can be taken by the government to ameliorate the situation.