In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other

concerns.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

It is argued that in some nations, the governing bodies / authorities give priority to economic growth as compared to the other concerns. While the main advantage of this approach is better living standards, I believe that it can affect health and education of the general public.

The primary advantage of prioritizing economic growth is that it can improve living standards and reduce the poverty rate. In other words, high average incomes enable consumers to enjoy more goods and services and a better lifestyle. This means that people will have more income that will eventually reduce the poverty rate. For example, a recent report published by BBC suggested that economic growth in the twentieth century was a major factor in reducing absolute levels of poverty and enabling a rise in life expectancy.

However, economic growth alone will not suffice. Health and education are equally important. The major drawback of prioritizing economic growth is that it can have a negative impact on the environment. China, for example, is growing rapidly. Unfortunately, this is at the expense of the environment. The air quality is China is perhaps the lowest in the world. Fast growing Indian cities are no different. While economic growth is good, the resultant pollution can affect the health of the people. It can also destroy wildlife. Another issue is that when nations try too hard to grow financially, culture and morality may take a hit.

In conclusion, although prioritizing economic growth is beneficial because it increases the living standards and reduces the poverty rate, I believe that it has a negative impact on the environment and health of people.